{}
CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Rockies' rut extends to manager's challenges

Weiss loses second of series vs. Cardinals due to inconclusive replays

|
Rockies' rut extends to manager's challenges play video for Rockies' rut extends to manager's challenges

DENVER -- For the second straight night, an instant-replay review defied the eyes of fans at Coors Field, as well as manager Walt Weiss.

With no outs the bottom of the seventh inning on Tuesday night with the Rockies leading the Cardinals, 6-5, Charlie Culberson attempted to bunt DJ LeMahieu to third base. St. Louis pitcher Sam Freeman fielded and threw to third baseman Matt Carpenter. The throw arrived accurately and well ahead of LeMahieu, and third-base umpire Will Little ruled that the tag was applied in time.

Replays on the scoreboard at Coors Field seemed to show Carpenter's glove sweeping just above LeMahieu's lower leg and the tag being applied high on his thigh after his foot hit the bag. However, a closer look showed that strings dangling from Carpenters glove may have touched LeMahieu's ankle before his foot hit the bag.

After review, the play would stand, indicating there wasn't conclusive evidence to overturn, nor confirm, the call.

A frustrated Weiss slammed both his hands against the padded dugout railing and, according to amateur lip-readers in the press box, yelled, "What do we have replay for?"

That may have stemmed from a play in Monday night's 8-0 loss, once again with Carpenter at the center.

Carpenter was ruled to have been hit by a pitch, even though replays shown in the stadium appeared to show the ball didn't hit him. The Rockies after the game contended Carpenter wasn't hit, but the call would stand and he was awarded first base because replays were inconclusive.

Tuesday's play at third was the second call of the night that went against the Rockies, although the other was not reviewable. With the Cardinals' Matt Holliday at second base, Allen Craig hit a bouncer between third and short. The Rockies contended the ball grazed Holliday's right forearm, causing the bizzare hop that sent the ball spinning past shortstop Troy Tulowitzki.

Obstruction, which would have been the call if umpires had ruled the ball hit Holliday, is not reviewable. Weiss asked the umpires to consult on the field. They did, and didn't change it. Holliday scored the Cards' fifth run of the game and Craig ended up with an RBI single.

Thomas Harding is a reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter @harding_at_mlb. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español