CLOSE

Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Call confirmed as Twins nab Blackmon at dish

Call confirmed as Twins nab Blackmon at dish play video for Call confirmed as Twins nab Blackmon at dish

DENVER -- The Rockies hoped to catch a break when umpires initiated a crew chief review to determine if Twins catcher Eric Fryer illegally blocked the plate in violation of Rule 7.13 after Charlie Blackmon was ruled out in the third inning of Saturday's 9-3 loss. But after a 2-minute, 5-second review, the call was confirmed to end the inning.

With Colorado trailing, 3-0, in the bottom of the third, Rockies first baseman Justin Morneau worked the count full against right-hander Kevin Correia before singling up the middle with two outs. Rockies third-base coach Stu Cole gave Blackmon the green light to go home from second, but by then, Brian Dozier had already made a ranging play to scoop up the ball.

Dozier quickly fired off a perfect, off-balance throw to Fryer to catch Blackmon by a considerable margin for the final out of the frame.

Rockies manager Walt Weiss, however, was concerned about Fryer's positioning and asked home-plate umpire Angel Hernandez to take another look. The review confirmed that Fyrer's tag and positioning were legal since he received the ball before he covered the plate, denying the Rockies a run.

Cody Ulm is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }